B&M 4268 at Base Station Road, Bretton Woods
This past Sunday, 9/18, the Conway Scenic's "Mountaineer" excursion featured the B&M 4268, a historically significant and restored F7A, as it led the way into Fabyans with the former MEC GP7 #573 (Mr. Miller's Engine), pulling 2 dome cars, and 4 coaches.
This was 4268's first trip west of Crawfords, and the 4th time this season 4268 has been shown off since it's operational debut last Spring. This bridge crosses the Ammonoosuc River at the Base Station Road crossing, Fabyan Station behind the picture taker and this is where the runaround to head east takes place.
B&M 4268 is owned and was meticulously restored by the 470 Club. Amazingly that out of the 4 F7A's the B&M purchased, 4265, 4266, and 4267 in March of 1949, and 4268 in October of 1949. Three reside in Northern NH.. 4265 is on display up the road in Gorham, though in rough shape. 4267 was wrecked in November 1960, and was traded in to EMD.
Your next scheduled opportunity to catch this restored covered wagon gem in action is on 10/22.
Photographed by Jay Gadon, September 18, 2022.
Added to the photo archive by Jay Gadon, September 25, 2022.
Railroad: Conway Scenic.
» Contact the person who posted this photograph.